Master in the Middle Awardmaster in the middle logo

Purpose: NELMS seeks to honor teachers who are devoted to young adolescents, committed to best middle practices, and who have taught for 20 or more years.

Selection Criteria:

  • Passionate about middle level education
  • Currently teaches middle level students
  • Serves as an educational leader
  • Advocates for the middle level community
  • Provides formal/informal mentoring to colleagues
  • Models effective middle level instructional practices, such as:
    • Incorporating activity-based learning
    • Developing a sense of student ownership in their learning
    • Integrating higher order thinking
    • Fostering curriculum connections
    • Using a variety of assessment tools
    • Building relationships with students and families

Application Process: The nominator must collect the following and submit all materials electronically to by February 1.

  • The nominator must address in writing how the nominee meets the criteria stated above in 1,500 words or less.

Recognition: Those who receive an award will be recognized at the NELMS Annual Conference and in MidLines, (the NELMS newspaper), receive a two-day registration to our Annual Conference, and be featured on the web site.

The recipient will also be invited to present the award to the next year's award winner at the Annual Conference Welcome & Recognitions Reception.

Upon submission of this application, the school principal will be contacted by NELMS.

Nomination Form: Master in the Middle pdf

This year's recipient:

Krista Abear, Kingswood Regional Middle School, Wolfeboro, NH
William Guerrette, Presque Isle Middle School, Presque Isle, ME
Melissa Rice, Manchester Elementary Middle School, Manchester Center, VT
Julie Sanborn, Madomak Middle School, Waldoboro, ME